

ECOWAS COMMISSION COMMISSION DE LA CEDEAO COMISSÃO DA CEDEAO

PRESS RELEASE

Abuja, Nigeria, August 16, 2023. Directorate of Communication Nº 0XY

Page1/2

ECOWAS CHIEFS OF DEFENCE STAFF MEET IN ACCRA ON THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE ECOWAS STANDBY FORCE TO THE REPUBLIC OF NIGER

As a follow-up to the directive of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government at its Extraordinary Summit on the political situation in the Republic of Niger held on 10th August 2023 in Abuja, Nigeria, the ECOWAS Committee of Chiefs of Defence Staff (CCDC) has commenced the activation of the ECOWAS Standby Force for the restoration of constitutional order in the Republic of Niger.

To this end, the ECOWAS Committee of Chiefs of Defence Staff will be having an extraordinary meeting in Accra, Ghana from 17th to 18th August 2023 to finalise plans for the deployment of the Standby Force.

-----END-----For further information, Kindly contact: Directorate of Communication, ECOWAS Commission Telephone: +234 8025560095 - Email: <u>alungu@ecowas.int</u> Twitter: @ecowas_cedeao - Facebook: Ecowas-Cedeao <u>www.ecowas.int</u>

About ECOWAS

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established when the ECOWAS Treaty was signed by 15 West African Heads of State and Government on the 28th of May 1975 in Lagos, Nigeria. The ECOWAS region spans an area of 5.2 million square kilometres. The Member States are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.

Considered one of the pillars of the African Economic Community, ECOWAS was set up to promote co-operation and integration, leading to the establishment of an economic union in West Africa to raise the living standards of its peoples, and to maintain and enhance economic stability, foster relations-among Member States and contribute to the progress and development of the African continent.

In 2007, ECOWAS Secretariat was transformed into a Commission. The Commission is headed by the President, assisted by a Vice President, and Five Commissioners, comprising experienced bureaucrats who are providing the leadership in this new orientation. As part of this renewal process, ECOWAS is implementing critical and strategic programmes that will deepen cohesion and progressively eliminate identified barriers to full integration. In this way, the estimated 300 million citizens of the community can ultimately take ownership for the realization of the new vision of moving from an ECOWAS of States to an **"ECOWAS of the People: Peace and Prosperity to All"** by 2050.



ECOWAS COMMISSION COMMISSION DE LA CEDEAO COMISSÃO DA CEDEAO

Abuja, Nigeria, August 16, 2023. Directorate of Communication Page2/2